Skip to content

Heer

February 19, 2017

heer

Link to the song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNcxgxHcGYg

Meaning and Context:

The song interweaves two of the most famous folk tales of Punjab – the story of Heer-Ranjha and the story of Mirza-Sahiba. In the song, the girl is saying – don’t call me Heer, I am now Sahiba. Heer, the heroine of the first story, loved Ranjha, but she was married to another man. But Sahiba, the heroine of the second story, was saved from this fate and her lover, Mirza, took her away with him. Thus, the girl in the song wishes to be called Sahiba instead of Heer because she hopes to be with her lover.

The song is in Punjabi. I generally don’t put here songs which are completely in a different language than Hindi because I don’t know any other language except Hindi and English but here I make an exception for this beautiful song. The lyrics and translation are borrowed from the internet. Please do let me know if they can be improved in any way.

Lyrics to the song:

Heer Heer na akho adiyo, mai te Sahiba hoi
Ghodi laike aave lai jaye… Ghodi laike aave lai jaye

Ho mainu, lai jaye Mirza koi, lai jaye Mirza koi, lai jaye Mirza koi….

Ohde je hi main te oh mere warga
Hansda ae sajra sawere warga
Ankha band kar lai te thand hanere warga
Ohde je hi main te oh Mirza mere warga

Naal naal tur na te vith rakhna
Hadd rakh lena vich dil rakhna
Chanve chanve pave asi teri parchawe tur na
Ohde je hi main te oh Mirza mere warga

mirza-sahiba

Line by line translation:

O friends, don’t call me Heer, I am now Sahiba
He will come on a horse and take me… He will come on a horse and take me…

Oh, some Mirza may take me away… some Mirza may take me away…

I am like him, he is like me
His smile is like the break of dawn
When he closes his eyes, it’s like cold darkness
I am like him, like Mirza, and he is like me…

Walk with me, don’t keep any distance in between
Mark a boundary and keep the heart in between
I have to walk in your shadow only
I am like him, like Mirza, and he is like me…

From → Punjab-Sindh

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

