Skip to content

Lo aa gayi lodi ve

February 18, 2017

happy-lohri

Link to the song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQE3BPCeuQU

Meaning and Context:

Lohri is the harvest festival of Punjab. Celebrated on the eve of Sakranti, i.e. 13th January, it also marks the end of peak winters. It’s an auspicious occasion for Punjabis, who celebrate it with many traditional rites and rituals. But for the youth, it’s an evening of fun and revelry around the bonfire. This song from the movie Veer Zaara captures this lighter mood of the festival where lovers tease and romance each other.

It presents a light-hearted dialogue between a middle-aged couple, where the husband is romancing the wife by expressing his promise of love for her. The wife teasingly tells him that she knows his intentions very well. She reminds him how he keeps breaking his promises about drinking and playing cards every night, so is he going to do the same about this promise too? The husband too teases her back but eventually manages to convince her by expressing his unshakeable love for her.

Lyrics and line by line translation:

AB:
Tere kurbaan jawa
Teri marzi jaan jawa
Tohar baat maan jawa
Teri soniye

HM:
Tainu mai jaan diya
Khoob pehchan diya
Milna jo mujhko haiga tujhko
Sun le kuch gal na meriya

Men:
Hoye, hoye, hoye jind meriye…

Women:
Aaye haye haye jind meriya…

Men:
Lo aa gayi lodi ve
Bana lo jodi ve
Kalaayi koyi yu thaamo
Na jaye chodi ve
Na jaye chodi ve….

Women:
Jhoot na boli ve
Kufar na toli ve
Jo tune khaayi thi kasmein
Ik ik todi ve
Ik ik todi ve….

AB:
Shaam hote hi naal yaaraan de roz da peena
Doobe sooraj to banda vi doobe, hai ye koyi jeena?

HM:
Baat changi hai ye teri, dhyaan rakhaanga
Aaj pee loon, boond kal se main na chakhaanga

AB:
I can die for you
If I know what you want
I will do as you say
You beautiful

HM:
I know you
I know you too well
All you want is to get me
But never hear what I say

Men:
Hoye, hoye, hoye my love…

Women:
Aaye haye haye my love…

Men:
Here comes lodi
Find yourself a partner
Hold a hand so
That you never leave
That you never leave….

Women:
Don’t lie now
Don’t do evil now
All the vows you took
You broke each one
You broke each one….

AB:
At dusk he must drink with his friends everyday
As the sun sets he too must set, what life is this?

HM:
What you say is right and I will remember now
Let me drink today, not a drop from tomorrow

6a00e551a4e0f3883301a510c0caca970c
SRK:
Haan.. jo ab shaam hogi toh seedhe ghar jaayenge
Haan haan haan….

AB:
Tere kurbaan jawa
Teri marzi jaan jawa

Women:
Oy raanjhna, mere makhna, oy dhholna, mere sajna

Men:
Jind meriye, oy heeriye, soniye ho….

HM:
Tenu har din vekhdi hoon khelde patte
Mujhse pyaare tenu panje, chhikke te satte, kyun?

AB:
Taash kheloon ab na hogi aisi naadaani
Ab toh honge do hi patte, raaja aur raani

HM:
Jind ey meri hogi teri chhad patteyaan di dheriyaan
Tainu mai jaan diya… khoob pehchan diya…

HM:
Kuchh mangau yaad tumko reh nahin paaye
Laana toh tha ek paraanda, halva le aaye!

AB:
Paas ab ye note book hai, is mein likh loonga
Yaani ab jo tum mangaao wo hi laaunga

SRK:
Sudharte sudharte hi sudhar jaayenge
Haan haan haan…

SRK:
Haan… now every evening he will come straight home
Haan haan haan….

AB:
I can die for you
If I know what you want

Women:
Oh lover, my darling, my love

Men:
My life, my love, you beautiful….

HM:
I see you playing cards everyday
Dearer to you are your five, six and sevens

AB:
Wont make the mistake of playing cards now
Now there will be only two cards, king and queen

HM:
Your life is with me, leave the pack of cards
I know you…. I know you too well….

HM:
I ask you to bring something, you forget
Asked you to bring a ribbon, but you got halva!

AB:
Now I have this notebook and I will write in it
So now whatever you ask I will get it right

SRK:
He is improving, he will improve with time
Haan haan haan…

13tweet2
HM:
Chaahe badlo ya na badlo phir bhi mere ho
Main toh chahu jab janam loon tum hi mere ho

AB:
Oh ho ho ho ho..
Heeriye main har janam hoon tera hi jogi
Tu meri thi, tu meri hai, tu meri hogi

SRK:
Tumhaare bina ye kidhar jaayenge..?

AB:
Tere kurbaan jawa
Teri marzi jaan jawa

HM:
Whether you change or not, you are mine
In every lifetime I wish you were mine

AB:
Oh ho ho ho ho..
My love, Im yours in every life
You were, you are, and you always be mine

SRK:
Where will he go without you..?

AB:
I can die for you
If I know what you want

 

From → Punjab-Sindh

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

