Skip to content

Aave re hichki

February 8, 2017

hichki-1

Link to the song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2moTDbXNFI

Meaning & Context:

This one is about hiccups. In Rajasthan, and perhaps in many other parts of India, it is said that if you have hiccups, someone is missing you. There’s an old Rajasthani folk song about a woman who gets hiccups when her husband is traveling for work. She hasn’t heard from him in a while and she is yearning for him and now that she has the hiccups she knows that he’s missing her too…

Inspired from this folk song, Gulzar has penned original lyrics in his quintessential style for the movie, Mirzya. The story is about two lovers who were separated in childhood but have never really forgotten each other. Every now and then, old memories pop up like a hiccup, and now even more so when they are reunited but cannot express anything to each other.

The song evokes familiar imagery from desert folk songs like the dry kikar tree by the dry pond which mirrors the state of heart of the lonely lover. Nothing can appease the burning heart except the lover’s embrace, not even the pouring rain of shravana.

But, even though these images are so sad and melancholic, the music is not so. The music is rather upbeat. It’s a song which says ‘sweet remembrance’. Actually, it brings to mind the mood when friends and relatives would tease the wife when she would get the hiccups and she would giggle and cover her face abashedly.

It’s a song which has a melancholic core but a sweet exterior, and perhaps that’s also the state of lonely lovers. Hic! 🙂

Lyrics to the song:

Nidra mein kisne yaad kiyo re
Jagaaye saari raina re
Piya jagaave… jiya jagaave.. diya jagaave re…

Aave re hichki, aave re hichki, aave re hichki… hich!

Sandesa aayo na… chithiya bhijaayi
Saavan mein sookhe naina re….
Talaiyya sookhi, kikhar sookha, bheetar sookha re….

Aave re hichki, aave re hichki, aave re hichki…

Dhoop mundere chadh gayo dhola
Jal gayo saari chhaav re
Aangan paar karu mai kaise
Talve jale mere paanv ke

Talaiyya sookhi, kikhar sookha, bheetar sookha re….

Aave re hichki, aave re hichki, aave re hichki…

O meri janiya re
Shaam dhale jo chand chadhe to
Phir na rulaiyo re

O meri janiya re
Meri jaan ki saugandh hai
Yaad na aaiyo re…

Piya jagaave… jiya jagaave.. diya jagaave re…

Aave re hichki, aave re hichki, aave re hichki…

Janiya o janiya…
Man tarse… ghan barse…
Badri sunay na re…

mirzya

Line by line translation:

Who is it that remembers me as I sleep?
Who keeps me awake all night?
The lover.. the heart.. the earthen lamp keeps me awake…

It’s giving me hiccups… giving me hiccups… giving me hiccups… hic!

No news has come.. I’ve sent him a letter
My eyes are parched in pouring rain…
The pond is dry, kikar tree is dry, I’m patched inside…

It’s giving me hiccups… giving me hiccups… giving me hiccups…

The sun is over the parapet, my love
The shade is ablaze
How do I cross the courtyard
Soles of my feet will get burnt

The pond is dry, kikar tree is dry, I’m patched inside…

It’s giving me hiccups… giving me hiccups… giving me hiccups…

O my love, my life…
When the moon rises at nightfall
Don’t make my cry again

O my love, my life…
Promise over my life
Don’t come in my thoughts

It’s giving me hiccups… giving me hiccups… giving me hiccups…

My love, my life….
Heart yearns… Clouds pour…
Clouds don’t listen to me…

mirzya-2

From → Des

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

