Skip to content

Munjho takht chadayo heer

April 29, 2014

Manganiyar

Link to the song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dlkjKRjN8kA

Meaning & Context:

The story of Highway takes one through many diverse regions of the north. The story is interspersed with songs from many of these regions, with a great mix of folk melodies and very distinctive regional lyrics. We have the sweet Heera that invokes the pahadi melodies, and the unabashed Patakha Guddi from Punjab. There is another small song which is heard in the film but is, for some reason, not listed on the soundtrack. I had been looking for it ever since I saw the film and some blessed soul has put it on Youtube. So here it is!

It is performed by the Manganiyar musicians of Rajasthan, Saawan Khan and his friends, and it is a traditional Sindhi folk song. It is full of the mystical spiritualism and a distinctive melancholy of the north-western desserts. It is written in the Sufi tradition of poetry and is saying that God took away the powers I was so proud of and made me a faqeer, a mendicant.

I am grateful to the readers of the blog who have contributed some lyrics of the song along with the line by line meaning. This is what this blog is about! Thank you so much contributors: Vineet and Himanshu!

Lyrics and translation:

Cha harno achii, cha kharno achi….(rest of the line missing)
What do you take, what do you bring?

Harnoo acha damm, kharno acha kadam
Taking a breath in every step that I take

Zabaan chawey la illah ha illiallah jadey chap chawan Muhummad ur rasool al Allah
My tongue says God is One, my lips say Muhummad is his Prophet

Mukhey takht chadayo heer, taqdeer banayo faqeer
My love made me leave my throne, my fate made me a beggar

From → Punjab-Sindh

8 Comments
  1. Rameen permalink

    if you ever find the translation of this song could you please share? thanks. i appreciate what you already put here in the post. 🙂

    • I am looking for the complete song and the translation. Will post them soon… 🙂

    • vineet permalink

      cha harno achii, cha kharno achi(what do you take,what do you bring?) harnoo acha damm, kharno acha kadam( taking a breath in every step that i take), zabaan chawey la illah ha illiallah jadey chap chawan Muhummad ur rasool al Allah(my ltongue says God is One, my lips say Muhummad is his Prophet), mukhey takht chadayo heer, taqdeer banayo faqeer(my love made me leave my throne, my fate made me a begger’

  2. I have also looked high and low for the lyrics to this song. Do not find it anywhere.

  3. himanshu permalink

    copied from various places ppl!! 🙂

    Munkhe Takht chadayo Heer {Sawan Khan} Bollywood Film: Highway (2014)
    Munjho takht chadayo heer…Taqdeer banayo faqeer

    cha harno achii, cha kharno achi(what do you take,what do you bring?) harnoo acha damm, kharno acha kadam( taking a breath in every step that i take), zabaan chawey la illah ha illiallah jadey chap chawan Muhummad ur rasool al Allah(my ltongue says God is One, my lips say Muhummad is his Prophet), mukhey takht chadayo heer, taqdeer banayo faqeer(my love made me leave my throne, my fate made me a begger’

    cha harno achii, cha kharno achi(what do you take,what do you bring?) harnoo acha damm, kharno acha kadam( taking a breath in every step that i take), zabaan chawey la illah ha illiallah jadey chap chawan Muhummad ur rasool al Allah(my ltongue says God is One, my lips say Muhummad is his Prophet), mukhey takht chadayo heer, taqdeer banayo faqeer(my love made me leave my throne, my fate made me a begger’ its a sufi kalaam

    takht chhudayo heer.. takdeer banayo heer..
    meaning she made me lose my throne, made me a common man..
    and at the same time shes the one who made my destiny..

  4. Kamran Odhano permalink

    I like this song and love you sawan khan you are God gifted

Leave a Reply

