Skip to content

Mero gaam kaatha parey

January 31, 2012

Meaning and Context:

Mero gaam kaatha parey is an iconic song which comes from the heart of Gujarat. It was used by the legendary film maker Shyam Benegal in the ‘80s movie Manthan, a movie that tells the story of revolution in the production and trade of milk that happened in Gujarat during the ‘70s and the ‘80s. Hence, the song, a regional folk song essentially about a woman’s longing to see her lover, has gone on to become the song of white revolution in India.

It was more recently used by Amul, a leading dairy products manufacturing company, as the theme song for their advertising campaign showcasing the model of co-operative organization of milkmaids and farmers. The campaign became memorable for its use of the song and the short narrative that follows: “Every morning 17 lac women across 9,000 villages, bringing in milk worth Rs.4 crores, are now celebrating their economic independence thanks to the co-operative movement called Amul.”

The original song, as used in the film, had two versions. Lyrics and translation to both have been given below. In essence it is very similar to morni baga ma bole– a village woman is calling out to her lover and asking him to come to the village which is so beautiful, so prosperous.

The lyrics were modified to suit the theme of Amul’s campaign and those are the ones more memorable today. They too have been given below. This version truly celebrates the achievement of the men and, more importantly, women behind the revolution. The people of Gujarat are known to be very enterprising and this version of the song symbolizes that.

Link to the song:

Fast version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Borj8EIkNRk
Slow version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRK72kSm25c
Amul version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RW9DSUbZX34

Lyrics to the song:

Fast version:

Mero gaam kaatha parey
Jaha doodh ki nadiya baahe
Jaha koyal toh koh gaye
Mhare ghar angna na bhoolo na

Mhare gamad neela ler
Jaha nachey mor nadel
Jaha doodh ki relam chel
Jaha wadti palli chaiyya
Ma sutti jati gaiyya
Aawo re

Aao  aoo mhare gaam
Sabse pyaro mharo dhaam
Yaad rakhiyo mero shyam
Mhare ghar angna na bhoolo na

Kabhi rukna mhare gaam
O pardesiya….

My village Katha Parey
Where rivers of milk flow
Where koels sing night and day
Don’t forget my home, my courtyard

In my village is a blue pond
Where peacocks dance
Where milk is traded
Where, in the shade of growing trees
Cows keep sleeping in peace
Come…

Come to my village
My place is most dear
Remember this my love
Don’t forget my home, my courtyard

Stop sometime at my village
Oh stranger…

Slow version:

Mero gaam kaatha parey
Jaha doodh ki nadiya baahe
Jaha koyal toh koh gaye
Mhare ghar angna na bhoolo na

Mai to dekhu thari vaat
Din na beete naahi raat
Koni kahu dil ki baat
Mai to thaaki re

Na mai gaiyya rowa jau
Na mai pani bharwa jau
Na mai sukh chain pau
Mhare ghar angna na bhoolo na

Tamey awya mhare gaam
Ab to chodo naahi shyam
Suno suno mohne lage
Mhara man-e thes lagey
Mhara shyam…

Mharo gaam ab to chodi jaiyyo na
Arey aawo mhare gaam
O pardesiya….

My village Katha Parey
Where rivers of milk flow
Where koels sing night and day
Don’t forget my home, my courtyard

I keep waiting for you
Day and night don’t seem to pass
Whom do I tell the condition of my heart
I am so tired

Now I don’t go grazing the cows
Nor do I got fill water
And I don’t get any peace
Don’t forget my home, my courtyard

When you come to my village
Don’t ever leave again, my love
Hear me, I feel
My heart has broken
My love…

I won’t let you leave my village
Oh come to my village
Oh stranger…

Amul version:

Mero gaam kaatha parey
Jaha doodh ki nadiya baahe
Jaha koyal toh koh gaye
Mhare ghar angna na bhoolo na

Sapne ho gaye hai sakaar
Damke mhara ye ghar baar
Aa gayi khushiyo ki phuhar
Barah mahine hai tyohar
Sun lo, sun lo re….

Dudh ka sagar behta jaye
Kangan sone ke khankaye
Sun lo dwar pe shehnai
Mhare ghar jhanjhar lakshmi ke bajey

My village Katha Parey
Where rivers of milk flow
Where koels sing night and day
Don’t forget my home, my courtyard

Dreams have come true
Our homestead is glowing
Happiness is gushing forth
Celebrations all twelve months
Hear, hear…

Seas of milk our flowing
Bangles of gold are chiming
Hear on the door shehnai playing
Lakshmi’s anklets are ringing in our home

From → Des

4 Comments
  1. simply brilliant analysis. the song is a tribute to the great folk traditions of gujarat and now more iconic as the success story of AMUL

  2. ultimate song really

  3. ravi torane permalink

    great song who is poet?

Leave a Reply

