Skip to content

Morni baaga ma bole

January 22, 2012

Context and Meaning:

Morni baaga ma bole aadhi raat ma… is a beautiful folk song that comes from the heart of Rajasthan. Rajasthan is known for its desolation, a barren land awaiting rains since eternity. There are many banjaras (gypsies) that travel through Rajasthan even today in search of food and water. They sing and dance to some age-old melodies of the region and try to find some happiness in between all the desolation and despair.

In this song, the banjaran is narrating the condition of her heart that aches for a lover who left long ago and never returned. If one goes to Rajasthan, one would find flocks of beautiful peacocks near and around more fertile areas. As the banjaran’s party camps out at one of these areas where water is nearby, she is reminded of her lover every time a peacock sings at night.

This song is very popular among the banjaras and with its use in the ’90s movie Lamhe it gained mass recognition.

Link to song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtFDeHBoORc&feature=related

The song:

Mhare hiwade me pai gayi re kataar re
Moriya chore bololyo re dhalti raat ma

Morni baaga ma bole aadhi raatma
Chhanan chhan chudiyaan khanak gayi dekh saahibaan
Chudiyaan khanak gayi haath ma

Main to laaj ke maare, ho gayi pani pani
Sab logan ne sun li mhari prem kahani
Mun se baat nikal gayi baat baat maa, baat baat ma
Chhanan chhan chudiyaan khanak gayi dekh saahibaan

Saajan saajan mai karu
More saajan na aawe
Jad dekhu chandani or mai
Mere naina neh barsawe

Jaane kaun ghadi main nikale saajan gharase
Main ghunghat mein gal gayi kitane savan barasaae
Meri pyaas na bujhi re barasaat maa, barasaat ma
Chhanan chhan chudiyaan khanak gayi dekh saahibaan…

Suni sej pe saiyaan sari raat main jaagi
Tharey lyare lyare mhari neend to bhaagi
Mera chain bhi gaya re tere sath ma
Chhanan chhan chudiyaan khanak gayi dekh saahibaan…

O dhola…
O mera nehara chhute re maaeri chhaati phuute dhola….
O dhola mat ja ja ja…
Re dhola mat ja ja ja …

Line by line translation:

A dagger strikes through my heart
When I hear a peacock at midnight

A peahen is singing in the garden at midnight
And look my lover, my bangles are also chiming
The bangles on my arm are chiming

I was overcome with embarrassment
When everyone heard our love story
The story just popped out of my mouth without realizing
And look my lover, my bangles are also chiming

I am calling my lover
But my lover never comes
When I look at the moonlight
There are tears in my eyes

At what fateful hour did my lover step out of the house
So many monsoons have passed that I melted under my “ghunghat”
But even all these monsoons couldn’t quench my thirst
And look my lover, my bangles are also chiming

I kept awake all night on my lonely bed
As you went, my sleep too went after you
And so went my peace with you
And look my lover, my bangles are also chiming

Oh lover
Oh my eyes are tearing, and my heart is breaking
Oh lover don’t go…
Oh lover don’t go…

From → Des

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

